From another point of view

Another model for my class’s writing lesson. Re-Writing the story of The Great Kapok Tree by Lynne Cherry from the tree’s point of view. My class loved it and their writing was amazing.

The Great Kapok Tree

I stood, as I have stood for decades past and will for decades to come, in the middle of my forest. At the foot of my trunk, ants scurried busily. In my branches a sloth crept carefully and a jaguar snoozed in the dappled shade. Busy bees hummed around their hive. Monkeys capered in the canopy. An overwhelming sense of peace filled my capillaries as the sun shone onto my leaves through the rain clouds.
A moment later, the sun disappeared and the world was plunged into darkness. A tap was turned on in the heavens and the rain began to fall. So absorbed was I with the rain and its life giving properties, I did not notice that humans had entered the jungle and were standing contemplating my trunk. It was only when a sharp, intense and frightening noise travelled up through the canopy that I realised that something unusual was happening. The man had taken an axe to my trunk and was hacking at my limbs. Chop! Whack! Chop! Whack! Pain radiated and travelled through my body like water through a stream. What was this? Why was this happening? I stood, unable to move or cry out or ask the man to stop, so I retreated into myself and wept.
After a while the sounds and feelings stopped. I allowed my consciousness to return to the surface and I soon realised that the man had fallen asleep. Relief spread through me like fire. But how long would the respite last? Relief turned to angst. As I was turning my troubles over and over inside me, I suddenly noticed movement near my trunk. My friends, the animals, were approaching the sleeping man. As I watched, they began to whisper in his ear. I heard fragments of what they were saying and soon realised that they were trying to save me! All manner of creatures fought my corner; from the tiny bee to the mighty jaguar, the prickly porcupine to the sleepy sloth. Each one told the sleeping man its own special reason why I should be spared. Finally, a child of the forest described his plight. The man slept on.
Suddenly he awoke. The animals and the child stood around him and then silently left. The man stayed where he was for a few moments before standing. As I watched, he picked up the axe again and contemplated it through different eyes. After what seemed like an eternity he put the axe down and walked out of the forest. Once again I stood, as I have stood for decades past and will for decades to come, in the middle of my forest.

Leave a Reply

